Breath Day – September 22, 2018

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
But a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Proverbs 31:30

Back at home after an out-of-town work trip, I was preparing myself for the day. I was quickly reminded of the far-superior lighting at the bathroom vanity in my hotel room. I don’t know what brand of lightbulbs the hotel used, but they were magic! My eyes sparkled and my skin was almost glowing. Now, gazing into my own bathroom mirror, I saw nothing but discoloration and wrinkles.

Our flesh desires visual perfection, and we women entertain a myriad of ways to try to improve on what we see in the mirror. But when the Lord looks upon us, His eyes are drawn to neither how dazzling we might look nor how tired and aging we may seem — not at all!  His attention is captured by a heart focused on and living for Him, one whose desire is to please Him in all she does.

That is authentic beauty!


We love hearing from you. Leave a comment below and let us know what you think.

Help us spread the word about Breath on Paper by sharing this post on FB, Pinterest, Twitter.  Make Breath on Papera part of your daily devotion. (We will never share your email.)

Leave a comment