Breath Day – September 8, 2018

Remove my sin, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.  ~ Psalm 51:7

Cleaning day typically comes once a week for me, a day when I address the needs of the household: returning items to their proper places, dusting, sweeping, laundering, making everything look and smell fresh again.  But sometimes the opportunity to do something fun and out of the ordinary comes along, and so I quickly whisk through the rooms, giving things a hasty wipe-down or, worse, lay aside completely what needs to be addressed and vow I’ll take care of it later.

Sometimes I treat my heart the same way.  I am distracted by more inviting pleasures than cleaning up the disarray there. Inappropriate words leave a smudge on conversations; wrong attitudes and actions soil relationships. When I finally get back to doing a more thorough cleaning, it takes more elbow grease than I anticipated.  There are wrongs to be righted, I’m sorry’s to be spoken, relationships to be mended. If only I had set aside my desires earlier and tended to the heart matters when they occurred … if only.

As Nathan prompted David, the Holy Spirit nudges me to examine myself and take inventory of my sin so that I can confess, repent, and come clean with not only those whom I have offended but with our loving Father, who mercifully blots out my transgressions and restores order to my heart.


We love hearing from you. Leave a comment below and let us know what you think. 

Help us spread the word about Breath on Paper by sharing this post on FB, Pinterest, Twitter.  Make  Breath on Paper a part of your daily devotion. (We will never share your email.)

Leave a comment